montage_tapis.jpg
WWF, Bernard Frize, What the Tiger Says: & Maya Lin, With the Weight of Each Step

London, UK

Artwise & WWF

  • #Sculpture

Tomorrow's Tigers is the new fundraising project organized by Artwise for WWF. The project aims to raise awareness and funds in support of the Tx2 goal – a global commitment to double tiger population in the wild by 2022. 10 internationally-renowned artists are taking part in “Tomorrow’s Tigers” by creating unique art rugs inspired by traditional Tibetan rugs.

An alarming observation

shaw_rug_2500x2500.jpg
WWF, Raqib Shaw, Ode to the Tigers of Bandhavgarh

95% of wild tigers have disappeared in the last century

In the early twentieth century, the wild tigers population was estimated at around 100,000 by experts. In 2010, the global population had decreased by over 95%, with approximately 3,900 tigers remaining in the wild, due to poaching as well as their habitat destruction. To avoid the total extinction of the species, WWF reacts by creating the Tx2 goal. The 13 "tiger range countries" - Bangladesh, Vietnam, Cambodia, India, Bhutan, Thailand, Indonesia, Laos, China, Malaysia, Russia, Nepal and Myanmar - committed from 2010 to double the number of wild tigers on their territory before 2022, the next Chinese year of the tiger.

The Tomorrow’s Tigers operation

fabrication_gary_hume._water_tiger._handknotted_handspun_handdyed_wool_and_silk._200x100cm._tomorrow_s_tigers_2018._1_.jpeg
WWF, Gary Hume, Water Tiger

Wishing to support Tx2 funding, ten international artists have responded to Artwise's call, the London Artwork Curators' collective, at the initiative of Tomorrow's Tigers: Italian painter Francesco Clemente, Indian visual artist Reena Saini Kallat, Chinese-American architect Maya Lin, Indian-born and London-based artist Raqib Shaw, English painter Rose Wylie, French contemporary artist Bernard Frize, British painter Gary Hume, Indian sculptor Anish Kapoor, English writer Harland Miller and feminist artist Kiki Smith.

Inspired by the legendary Tibetan Tiger rugs, each artist designed an original rug model illustrating his/her own vision of the feline's fate in the nature. Like antique rugs, originally made to protect the monks during the meditation, these revisited versions range from the most abstract to the most detailed, paying tribute to the beauty of the wild tiger.

Unique and eco-responsible rugs

https_s3_eu_west_1.amazonaws.com_htsi_ez_prod_ez_images_6_9_8_7_1687896_1_eng_gb_01_kiki_smith_hand_knotted_rug_in_handspun_wool._2x1m._wwf_tomorrow_s_tigers_kiki_smith._courtesy_timothy_taylor_londonnew_york..jpg
WWF, Kiki Smith, Pounce

Created from the artists' designs, these art rugs were made in northen India by rug specialist Christopher Farr and his team of master craftsmen. Each rug has been produced in only ten copies, in accordance with ancestral manual techniques. By using quality wool from the local market and - as much as possible - natural dyes, these carpets are respectful of nature in addition to being true works of art.

The signed and dated art rugs from the operation "Tomorrow's Tiger" were exhibited from January 29 to February 4 in London's Sotheby Gallery, along with nine authentic 19th century Tibetan carpets (among which 5 are currently offered for sale). The Artwise curated rugs are currently available for purchase online, between £ 10,000 and £ 25,000 with the goal of raising £ 1 million for the Tx2 project.

Artwise

Artwise is a London based curatorial collective. Described as an “ideas studio”, Artwise offers unique exhibitions, commissions,…

WWF

WWF - World Wildlife Fund - is an international NGO founded in 1961 by five British biologists worried about the future of…

montage_tapis.jpg
WWF, Bernard Frize, What the Tiger Says: & Maya Lin, With the Weight of Each Step

Londres, Royaume-Uni

Artwise & WWF

  • #Sculpture

Tomorrow’s Tigers est le nouveau projet de collecte de dons organisé par Artwise pour WWF. Son but est de sensibiliser l’opinion et de récolter des fonds pour soutenir l’objectif Tx2 - un engagement mondial visant à doubler le nombre de tigres dans la nature d’ici 2022. Le studio mobilise ainsi dix artistes de renommée mondiale pour créer des tapis d’art uniques inspirés des tapis traditionnels tibétains.

Un constat alarmant

shaw_rug_2500x2500.jpg
WWF, Raqib Shaw, Ode to the Tigers of Bandhavgarh

95% des tigres sauvages ont disparu au cours du siècle dernier

Au début du XXème siècle, les experts recensaient plus de 100 000 tigres dans la nature. En 2010, ils n’en comptaient plus que 3 200, soit une diminution de sa population de plus de 95%. En cause : le braconnage mais aussi la destruction de leur habitat. L’espèce se dirigeant lentement vers une extinction totale, WWF réagit : c’est la naissance de l’objectif Tx2. Les 13 pays dits “du tigre” - Bangladesh, Vietnam, Cambodge, Inde, Bhoutan, Thaïlande, Indonésie, Laos, Chine, Malaisie, Russie, Népal et Myanmar - s’engagent à partir de 2010 à doubler le nombre de tigres sauvages sur leur territoire avant 2022, date de la prochaine année du tigre en Chine.

L’opération Tomorrow’s Tigers

fabrication_gary_hume._water_tiger._handknotted_handspun_handdyed_wool_and_silk._200x100cm._tomorrow_s_tigers_2018._1_.jpeg
WWF, Gary Hume, Water Tiger

Souhaitant apporter leur soutien au financement de l’objectif Tx2, dix artistes internationaux ont répondu à l’appel du collectif de curateurs d’art londonien Artwise, à l’initiative du projet “Tomorrow’s Tigers”. Celui-ci regroupe ainsi le peintre italien Francesco Clemente, l’artiste plasticienne indienne Reena Saini Kallat, l’architecte sino-américaine Maya Lin, le peintre anglais d’origine indienne Raqib Shaw, l’artiste anglaise Rose Wylie, l’artiste français contemporain Bernard Frize, le peintre britannique Gary Hume, le sculpteur indien Anish Kapoor, l’écrivain anglais Harland Miller et l’artiste féministe Kiki Smith.

S’inspirant des légendaires tapis de tigre tibétains, chaque artiste a été amené à concevoir un modèle original illustrant sa propre vision du sort de ces félins dans la nature. Tout comme les tapis antiques, fabriqués à l’origine pour assurer la protection des moines pendant la méditation, ces versions revisitées vont du plus abstrait au plus détaillé, rendant hommage à la beauté du tigre sauvage.

Des tapis uniques et écoresponsables

https_s3_eu_west_1.amazonaws.com_htsi_ez_prod_ez_images_6_9_8_7_1687896_1_eng_gb_01_kiki_smith_hand_knotted_rug_in_handspun_wool._2x1m._wwf_tomorrow_s_tigers_kiki_smith._courtesy_timothy_taylor_londonnew_york..jpg
WWF, Kiki Smith, Pounce

Créés à partir des modèles des artistes, les tapis ont été réalisés dans le nord de l’Inde par le spécialiste Christopher Farr et son équipe de maîtres artisans. Chaque tapis a ainsi été produit en dix exemplaires seulement, dans le respect des techniques manuelles ancestrales. Par l'utilisation de laine de qualité issue du marché local et - autant que possible - de teintures naturelles, ces tapis, en plus d’être de véritables oeuvres d’art, sont également respectueux de la nature.

Accompagnés de neuf authentiques tapis tibétains datant du XIXème siècle (dont cinq proposés à la vente), les tapis d’art nés de l’opération “Tomorrow’s Tiger” ont été exposés du 29 janvier au 4 février dernier dans la galerie Sotheby à Londres. Ces éditions limitées, signées et numérotées, sont désormais mis en vente entre 10 000£ et 25 000£ avec l’objectif de récolter un million de livres sterling pour le projet Tx2.

Artwise

Basé à Londres, Artwise est un collectif de curateurs d’art se définissant comme “studio d’idées”. Il propose des expositions…

WWF

WWF - World Wildlife Fund - est une ONG internationale fondée en 1961 par Julian Huxley, Max Nicholson, Peter Scott, Victor…